Skip to content

Belfast

November 22, 2007

I found this sign terribly amusing, though I’ve no idea why. Belfast was a nice stop. We spent the night at The George Guest House, and we were quite happy with it.We happened to be in town the night they turn on the Chistmas lights at City Hall, so we braved the drizzle along with 100,000 other Belfasters (Belfastikans? Belfasteners?) and gathered to see some local TV celebrities introduce some big pop star named Shane Sonething- or-other (though I’m sure I’m spelling the name wrong) who performed a bunch of songs that sounded just as bad and soulless as any American white boy who wants to make the little girls squeal. And the little Belfastian girls did indeed squeal, so mission accomplished. They turned on the lights, it was all very pretty, and the crowd mostly dispersed.We found our way to a nice pub, where I had Guinness #3 (yum), Harp #1 (meh), and Smithwicks #2 (yum). Yes, this trip is as much a beer tour for me as it is a regular tour.After last orders the pub (8:30), we made our way back to the B&B for supper at nearby Thai place (Thai-tanic, ahahahahaha!), but not before seeing a little skirmish between Belfast police and some drunken hooligans. Bottles thrown and everything — it was a bit surreal, especially since one of the officers took a moment away from being a target to give us some helpful directions on how to get back to our part of town.Today, we drove from Belfast to Galway. I’ve got to say, I’ve adjusted to the driving here quicker than I thought I would, which scares me since I have to drive in North America in a week. It’s fascinating when you think about how complex a process like driving is, yet how little attention we pay to it since it all becomes almost instinctual. It’s not until something in that situation is turned on its ear that you see it.Staying to the left, getting into the right side of the car, shifting with my left hand — all things I had to consciously think about yesterday, and all of which came almost naturally today.Tonight, it’s off to the pubs to hopefully experience some of the fine trad scene here in Galway. Then, tomorrow, we spend Thanksgiving in Dingle before heading back to Dublin for the duration of our stay.Slainte!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment