Skip to content
Tags

Another iPhone Jailbreak/Unlock

July 20, 2008

My little 4GB 1st Gen iPhone has gone through a few upgrades, jailbreaks and unlocks, and tonight I did another.The iPhone Dev Team released their tool, and it works. It’s not as nice and simple as the last tool I used, but it does the job. It just required a little more footwork.First up, you need to upgrade to iTunes 7.7, download the 2.0 firmware from Apple (but don’t install it yet), and do a sync to backup your phone.You’ll also need a couple of Bootloader files, and you can find links in the comments on the above link.The steps are pretty much then:

  1. Close iTunes
  2. Open the Pwnage tool
  3. Select your phone (mine’s a first gen).
  4. Select the downloaded firmware
  5. Say no to searching the web for a bootloader, and yes to browsing
  6. Do it again for the next bootloader
  7. It’ll ask to continue, and ask if you’re a legit iPhone user. My understanding is it’s asking if you’re an AT&T user or not. I’m not, so I said “No”.
  8. It’ll churn, get an admin authentication, and finally ask if you’ve used their tool on the phone before. I hadn’t, so I said “no”.
  9. At this point the tool failed, but research tells me all it does is try to put your phone into DFU (factory restore) mode. That’s okay, I know how to do that (power down, hold power and home until apple logo appears, then release power until factory restore screen appears).
  10. Fire up iTunes. It’ll say it needs to restore your phone. That’s fine, just hold down option while clicking “Restore”.
  11. Browse to the .ipsw on your desktop, and select it.
  12. Then the phone goes through some machinations and sits on a pineapple screen for a few minutes.
  13. The phone will reboot – the pineapple replaces the apple logo.
  14. After reboot, it says (on the phone) it’s flashing the bootloader and “DO NOT INTERRUPT!!!” So, don’t interrupt it.
  15. After bootloader, it’ll flash the baseband (again, on-screen phone message). Takes up to 2 minutes according to the screen, and that’s accurate.
  16. The phone reboots. And, voila, I’ve got a T-Mobile 2.0 iPhone (minus all my apps, natch).

I’m actually planning to get a 3G iPhone when I don’t have to stand in a line to do it, so this is mostly to tide me over and let me try the new features before then. This tool won’t SIM unlock a 3G iPhone either, but since T-Mobile has no 3G here, I was planning to switch to AT&T then anyway.So far, I’ve been having much fun with the App Store. At some point over the next few days I’ll try to get as many of the old apps I loved so much back onto my phone, assuming they work with 2.0.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Robot Monkey Pants » Archives » iPhone Pwnage for 2.0.1 permalink

    […] in my prior post on the subject, this one was fairly straightforward. Only difference is this time I used Expert […]

Leave a comment